We owe it to each other to tell stories - Neil Gaiman

Wednesday, 19 May 2010

Charlaine Harris - The Genius behind Sookie Stackhouse

Charlaine Harris, the author who brought us Sookie Stackhouse was born in Tunica, Mississippi in 1951. After publishing two stand-alone mysteries, Harris began the lighthearted Aurora Teagarden books with Real Murders, a Best Novel 1990 nomination for the Agatha Awards. Harris wrote several books in the series before the mid-1990s when she began branching out into other works. She did not resume the series until 1999, with the exception of one short story in a Murder, She Wrote (who could forget Angela Lansbury's wonderful charactor!!!) anthology titled, "Murder, They Wrote."

In 1996, she released the first in the Shakespeare series, set in rural Arkansas. The fifth book in the series, Shakespeare's Counselor, was printed in the Autumn of 2001, followed by the short story "Dead Giveaway" published in the Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine in December of the same year. Harris has stated on her website that she has finished with the series. After Shakespeare, Harris created The Southern Vampire Mysteries series about a telepathic waitress named Sookie Stackhouse who works in a northern Louisiana bar. The first book in the series, Dead Until Dark, won the Anthony Award for Best Paperback Mystery in 2001. Each book follows Sookie as she tries to solve mysteries involving vampires, werewolves, and other supernatural creatures.

October 2005 marked the debut of Harris's new series entitled The Harper Connelly Mysteries, with the release of Grave Sight. The series is told by a young woman named Harper Connely, who after being struck by lightning, is able to locate dead bodies and to see their last moments through the eyes of the deceased.

Here are the books that Charlaine Harris has written, hopefully during the course of the year I will read them all.
Southern Vampire Series

1. Dead until Dark

2. Living Dead in Dallas

3. Club Dead

4. Dead to the World

5. Dead as a Doornail

6. Definitely Dead

7. All together Dead

8. From Dead to Worse

9. Dead and Gone

10. A touch of Dead

11. Dead in the Family

Harper Connelly Series

1. Grave Sight

2. Grave Surprise

3. An ice cold Grave

4. Grave Secret

Aurora Teagarden Series

1. Real Murders

2. A Bone to Pick

3. Three Bedrooms, One Corpse

4. The Julius House

5. Dead over Heels

6. A Fool and his Honey

7. Last Scene Alive

8. Poppy Done to Death

Lily Bard Series

1. Shakespeare’s Landlord

2. Shakespeare’s Champion

3. Shakespeare’s Christmas

4. Shakespeare’s Trollop

5. Shakespeare’s Counsellor

No comments:

Post a Comment

What did you think? I would love to read your comments.